2018 Portage Strength Classic Meet Report

2018 Portage Strength Classic Meet Report

The reincarnation of the once lost Portage Strength Classic was recently brought back by myself (Matt Robertson) alongside Paige Kernot and Janet Loesel Sitar. MPA President Mathew Bowen was very helpful leading some brand new meet directors. Thank you Mat, we could not have done it without your guidance.

The meet was held once again in the gymnasium of the Southport Rec Center where lifters and spectators had lots of space to move freely and enjoy the day.  We also hosted a referee clinic early in the morning before the meet. Ashleigh Wiebe and Jorrel Marasigan passed their exams and are now Provincial Referees. Congratulations you two!

The meet could not have been such a success without the help from our volunteers.

Thank you to our volunteers:

Brock Haywood

Susan Haywood

Vince Green

Brennan McIntyre

Randi Chase

Carrie Blanchard

Don Robertson

Diane Robertson

Johanna Theroux

Jocelyn Espenell

Riley Bertrand

Krissy Boyd

Mark Oxer

Kurt Kornelsen

Jayms Kornelsen

Ashleigh Wiebe

Jocelyn Blake

David Woodward

Evan Woodward

Nathaniel Woodward


Thanks also to our referees:

Amanda Burg

Jen Cruz

Thea Olalia

Gord Grimolfoson

Susan Haywood

Krista Sanger


Thank you to our sponsors:

LVD Fitness

White Lion Athletics

Inner Strength Products


We had an exceptional 25 lifters step on the platform showing off their best lifts. There was incredible amount of effort, drive, and heart that went into every lift, making the day that much more to enjoy. We had multiple new lifters at this meet that we all hope to see at meets in the future. A new Manitoba Record was set by Aricelle Mateo, achieving a 150.5 Squat in the 72kg Female Open category. Roger Girard broke all records to achieve a 445kg total in the 120kg Male Open Category.

The best Female Open lifter award was given to Aricelle Mateo, achieving an incredible 384.486 Wilks score. The best Male Open lifter award was received by Drew Simpson with his outstanding 418.792 Wilks score. The best Masters lifter award was given to Josh Seeland with his amazing 356.526 Wilks score. The best Sub-Junior/Junior lifter award was handed to Nathaniel Woodward, with his excellent performance which got him a 333 Wilks score. Great job lifters!

In closing, I would like to wish the best to lifters who will be competing at Nationals in 2019.  All your fellow Manitoba lifters are cheering you on!


Thank you,

Matt Robertson

Meet Director

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *